Michael Dease Releases “Coming Home”, Featuring Christian McBride

Michael Dease: Coming HomeTrombonist Michael Dease has released his fifth album as a leader, entitled Coming Home. The 11-track release showcases the jazz side of his upbringing in Augusta, Georgia with a healthy mix of standards and original tunes.

Dease recruited bass legend Christian McBride to anchor the album, citing his tastefulness and virtuosic playing.

“Everything he plays feels so good,” Dease said. “It feels like it’s right where it’s supposed to be and it’s just what the music needs.”

McBride opens the album with a soulful, straight-eighth note groove on Dease’s original composition “Solid Gold,” and offers incredible solos on nearly every track. The group also opens up on McBride’s song “The Shade of the Cedar Tree.”

Coming Home is available on CD and digital format.

Coming Home Track List:

  1. Solid Gold
  2. Motherland
  3. Blues Etude
  4. In A Sentimental Mood
  5. Good & Terrible
  6. Lifewish
  7. The Shade Of The Cedar Tree
  8. Just In Time
  9. All Heath
  10. The Release
  11. Take It To The Ozone

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts