Alice In Chains Releases “The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here”

Alice In Chains: The Devil Put Dinosaurs HereAlice in Chains has released their fifth studio album, and the second since their 2005 reunion.

And while The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here carries the group’s signature sludge metal sound, the band says the effort is an evolution of their sonic palette.

“We made a unique record that’s completely different from anything we ever did,” guitarist Jerry Cantrell told Rolling Stone. “It encapsulates a period of time, like all records do. You see growth and that the band is moving ahead in new territory that we haven’t been to before, but we haven’t lost our identity.”

The band’s current lineup includes original members Cantrell and drummer Sean Kinney as well as bassist Mike Inez and vocalist William DuVall. Inez’s bass sits like a rock in the mix and his fat, gritty tone is the basis of the album’s second single, “Stone.”

Alice In Chains just got off tour but will be returning to support the release in June in Europe with a Canadian trek in July and U.S. dates in August.

The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here is out now on CD, vinyl and digital formats through iTunes and Amazon MP3.

The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here Track List:

  1. Hollow
  2. Pretty Done
  3. Stone
  4. Voices
  5. The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here
  6. Lab Monkey
  7. Low Ceiling
  8. Breath On A Window
  9. Scalpel
  10. Phantom Limb
  11. Hung On A Hook
  12. Choke

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts