David Friesen Pays Homage to Son with “Brilliant Heart”

David Friesen: Brilliant HeartWhen renowned jazz bassist David Friesen’s son Scott passed away in 2010, he knew he wanted to honor his life with a memorial CD, and after some time the opportunity arose at the end of a tour with his trio. The resulting album, Brilliant Heart, is a 13-track collection of songs Friesen composed for his son.

“My son Scott loved my original music,” Friesen writes, “and many times as a child he would accompany me on tours I would do in Europe, Canada and the USA. Scott loved jazz. He played the guitar, electric bass and enjoyed the tranquility of playing classical music with/on his violin.”

Each track is a reflection on his son’s interests and moments from his life. Friesen recruited his closest musical compatriots for the effort including pianist Greg Goebel, drummer Charlie Doggett and guitarist Larry Koonse. The freely improvised music comes off as reflective yet joyful, which can be credited to the group’s incredible interplay and understanding of each other.

“There were no arrangements or rehearsals, though we did discuss a few ideas in the studio,” Friesen said of the recording process. “But for the most part, everything just unfolded naturally. Almost everything was a first take… it did not take long to complete the recording.”

CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Brilliant Heart Track List:

  1. Sailing
  2. Violin
  3. Want of Method
  4. Painting the Blues
  5. My New Gate
  6. Where the Light Falls
  7. Brilliant Heart
  8. Purple Painting
  9. My Dog Elie
  10. Backyard Haven
  11. Circle of Three
  12. Be at Rest Oh My Soul
  13. Scotty F.

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts