Tony Grey Releases “Elevation”

Tony Grey: ElevationFor his fourth solo album, Elevation, bassist Tony Grey recruited an all-star cast of musicians, including Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Hiromi, (Grey’s uncle) John McLaughlin, Branford Marsalis, Zakir Hussain, Mike Stern and Steve Lukather.

Each of the recruits had something else in common – they have all been backed by Grey at some point.

The 10-track album features six originals by Grey, along with John McLaughlin’s “Chicks Chums” (a previously unreleased tune McLaughlin wrote for Chick Corea), Eddie Harris’ “Freedom Jazz Dance” and Miles Davis’ “Solar”. Elevation’s last track offers up the bassist’s own arrangement of “Someday My Prince Will Come”,

Other musicians on the album include fretless guitarist David Fiuczynski, Whitesnake’s Reb Beach, and multi-instrumentalist Hotei Tomoyasu.

Elevation is out now on CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Here’s a live version of the album’s opening track, “Guiding Light”, recorded in London:

Elevation Track List:

  1. Guiding Light
  2. Chicks Chums
  3. Freedom Jazz Dance
  4. Floating River Yangtze
  5. Galactic Samurai
  6. Elevation
  7. Walking in, Walking Out
  8. Dil Chahata Hai
  9. Solar
  10. Someday My Prince Will Come

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. This is a great record covering a lot of stylistic ground. Not only is Tony a masterful bassist, he’s a dedicated educator!