the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Archie Shepp and Attica Blues Orchestra Release “I Hear The Sound”

Archie Shepp and Attica Blues Orchestra: I Hear The SoundThe sound of bassist Reggie Washington, who has recorded, collaborated and/or toured with with the likes of Cassandra Wilson, Meshell N’degeocello, the M-Base Collective, and Ute Lemper, has left a significant mark on a new live record from jazz saxophonist and composer Archie Shepp and Attica Blues Orchestra.

The heart of the record is material from Shepp’s Attica Blues album, originally recorded in 1972 in response to the deadly 1971 riot at Attica Correctional Facility in New York. The album, by the socially focused Shepp and his big band, became an avant-garde classic.

Shepp’s return to the record with a different big band playing not only Attica Blues compositions, but also other complementary work, resulted in I Hear The Sound, with Washington’s work front and center. In a review in Britain’s The Independent newspaper, the funkiness of the arrangement’s is noted – in particular Washington’s slap-bass on the song “Attica Blues.”

I Hear The Sound is available at an import CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

I Hear The Sound Track List:

  1. Attica Blues
  2. Arms
  3. Blues for Brother G. Jackson
  4. Come Sunday
  5. The Cry of My People
  6. Quiet Dawn
  7. Déjà Vu
  8. Steam
  9. Goodbye Sweet Pop’s
  10. Ballad for a Child
  11. Mama Too Tight
  12. The Stars are in Your Eyes
  13. Ujaama

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts