the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

The Funky Knuckles Return With “Meta-Musica”

The Funky Knuckles: Meta-MusicaJazz fusion band The Funky Knuckles has a true Dallas sound, according to bassist and band leader Wes Stephenson.

“It’s the feel for funk, hip-hop and gospel, to which we add the elements of jazz and improvisation,” Stephenson tells The Dallas Morning News.

The second album from the group composed of seasoned music industry sidemen (Stephenson has performed with Erykah Badu), Meta-Musica, shows that the Dallas sound he describes is something listeners love – the record has climbed to the upper echelons of the iTunes Jazz Albums chart.

Give Meta-Musica track “16 Bars” a listen:

Meta-Musica is out now in digital format through The Funky Knuckles’ Bandcamp page and iTunes.

Meta-Musica Track List:

  1. [12]3,4 How Bout Them Funky Knuckles
  2. 16 Bars
  3. Rain Journey
  4. Mystery Song
  5. [12]3,4 Interlude
  6. Kyle’s Dance
  7. New Leaf
  8. Micro Clown
  9. [12]3,4 feat Cyfa Fix
  10. Shield of Faith

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts