Mike Zabrin Releases “Funktastic”

Mike Zabrin: FunktasticChicago-based bassist Mike Zabrin is feeling Funktastic.

That’s the name of his debut album, featuring R&B and jazz sounds, and of course, a heavy dose of funk. Zabrin, who tours with the Joe Moss Band, has enlisted some funk heavy-hitters to guest on the record, too. Vocalist Kendra Foster from Parliament Funkadelic makes an appearance, as do members of The Big Ol’ Nasty Getdown and Kool & the Gang. And fellow bassist Norwood Fisher of Fishbone, who instead of bass, handles the lyrics and vocals on “Fact Fiction.”

Get a taste of what’s happening here in this snippet of the opening track “(You Are) Extraordinary”:

Funktastic is available for download from Zabrin’s website, Amazon and iTunes.

Funktastic Track List:

  1. (You Are) Extraordinary
  2. Life
  3. Memories
  4. Smile
  5. You Can Count On Me
  6. The Other Side
  7. Cat & Mouse
  8. Make Yah Body Move
  9. Fact Fiction
  10. Funkin’ With You
  11. What’s the Deal?

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts