the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Wings’ “Venus and Mars” and “At the Speed of Sound” Reissued in McCartney Archive Collection Editions

As part of the Paul McCartney Archive Collection, two more Wings albums are getting the deluxe box set treatment, with reissues featuring bonus audio and video and booklets with previously unreleased photos and new interviews with Paul McCartney.

Wings: “Venus and Mars” & “At the Speed of Sound” Archive Collection Editions

Wings was legendary singer/songwriter/bassist Paul McCartney’s band throughout the 1970s. The band racked up hits throughout the decade, and these mid-1970s albums, Venus and Mars and At the Speed of Sound both featured several of them. Venus and Mars had the title track and “Listen to What the Man Said.” At the Speed of Sound is the album featuring the smash pop hits “Let ’Em In” and “Silly Love Songs.” The At the Speed of Sound set also includes a recording of “Beware My Love” with the late John Bonham, of Led Zeppelin, on drums.

You can get an idea of what each deluxe package holds in these unboxing videos for each album reissue:

Other albums already released as part of the Archive Collection are Band on the Run, McCartney, McCartney II, RAM and Wings over America.

The remastered edition of Venus and Mars is available on CD (this is for the edition without the DVD), gatefold vinyl, and on iTunes.

The remastered deluxe edition of At the Speed of Sound is also available on CD/DVD, a CD-only set, vinyl and iTunes.

Venus and Mars Reissue Track List:

Disc One: Remastered Album

  1. Venus and Mars
  2. Rock Show
  3. Love In Song
  4. You Gave Me The Answer
  5. Magneto and Titanium Man
  6. Letting Go
  7. Venus and Mars – Reprise
  8. Spirits Of Ancient Egypt
  9. Medicine Jar
  10. Call Me Back Again
  11. Listen To What The Man Said
  12. Treat Her Gently – Lonely Old People
  13. Crossroads

Disc Two: Bonus Audio

  1. Junior’s Farm
  2. Sally G
  3. Walking In The Park With Eloise
  4. Bridge On The River Suite
  5. My Carnival
  6. Going To New Orleans (My Carnival)
  7. Hey Diddle (Ernie Winfrey Mix)
  8. Let’s Love
  9. Soily (from One Hand Clapping)
  10. Baby Face (from One Hand Clapping)
  11. Lunch Box/Odd Sox
  12. 4th Of July
  13. Rock Show (Old Version)
  14. Letting Go (Single Edit)

Disc Three: DVD – Bonus Film

  1. Recording My Carnival
  2. Bon Voyageur
  3. Wings At Elstree
  4. Venus and Mars TV Ad

At the Speed of Sound Reissue Track List:

Disc One: Remastered Album

  1. Let ‘Em In
  2. The Note You Never Wrote
  3. She’s My Baby
  4. Beware My Love
  5. Wino Junko
  6. Silly Love Songs
  7. Cook Of The House
  8. Time To Hide
  9. Must Do Something About It
  10. San Ferry Anne
  11. Warm And Beautiful

Disc Two: Bonus Audio

  1. Silly Love Songs (Demo)
  2. She’s My Baby (Demo)
  3. Message To Joe
  4. Beware My Love (John Bonham Version)
  5. Must Do Something About It (Paul’s Version)
  6. Let ‘Em In (Demo)
  7. Warm And Beautiful (Instrumental Demo)

Disc Three: DVD – Bonus Film

  1. Silly Love Songs Music Video
  2. Wings Over Wembley
  3. Wings In Venice

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts