Jeff Coffin & the Mu’tet Releases “Side Up”, Featuring Felix Pastorius

Jeff Coffin & the Mu'tet: Side UpFormer Béla Fleck and the Flecktones sax player and current Dave Matthews Band member Jeff Coffin has yet again joined with a group of musicians called The Mu’tet, featuring electric bassist Felix Pastorius (son of Jaco and a Yellowjackets member) for a new album.

Side Up, is the sixth album from Coffin and the Mu’tet. Gypsy, African, Brazillian and New Orleans Second Line all influenced the sound of the record, along with Indian Ragas and jazz. “These are some of the finest musicians I have ever had the opportunity to play with,” Coffin said of The Mu’tet. “What they bring to the musical table is astonishing.” The band also includes five-time Grammy-winning drummer Roy “Futureman” Wooten.

And Pastorius is just as complimentary of three-time Grammy winner Coffin. “I’ve been playing alongside Jeff Coffin now for well over a decade and I can easily say, without a doubt, that I would not be the person or musician I am today if it wasn’t for that invitation to join The Mu’tet.”

Side Up is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Side Up Track List:

  1. And So It Begins
  2. Peace Now
  3. Low Hanging Fruit
  4. Steppin’ Up
  5. As You Were
  6. Scratch That Itch
  7. Mogador
  8. Yukemi
  9. The Scrambler
  10. Albert’s Blue Sky

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Rob Stragnell

    If you go over and just listen to the previews on iTunes you can hear that they’re playing a second line version of the giant step changes on stepping up, with some awesome group horn improvisation, which to be honest is pretty incredible.