Little-Heard Music from Short-Lived, But Legendary Bluesbreakers Lineup Released

John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers – Live in 1967 (Never Before Heard Live Performances)John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers is a rightly storied band, producing stars like the late bass legend Jack Bruce and guitar great Eric Clapton. It also, through a lineup that was together for a mere three months, the genesis of the first version of Fleetwood Mac.

Live music from that short-lived lineup, featuring John McVie on bass (along with Peter Green on guitar and Mick Fleetwood on drums) has been released for the first time on John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers – Live in 1967 (Never Before Heard Live Performances). McVie was not only the longest-tenured member of the Bluesbreakers, he was its first bassist. He, Green and Fleetwood left Mayall’s group and founded Fleetwood Mac.

The album emerged after Mayall acquired tapes of five London shows secretly recorded almost 50 years ago by a Dutch fan on a one channel reel-to-reel tape recorder. Mayall has restored the recordings, but they still retain their rough character.

John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers – Live in 1967 (Never Before Heard Live Performances) is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Live in 1967 Track List:

  1. All Your Love
  2. BrandNewStart
  3. Double Trouble
  4. Streamline
  5. Have You Ever Loved a Woman
  6. LookingBack
  7. So Many Roads
  8. Hi Heel Sneakers
  9. I Can’t Quit You Baby
  10. The Stumble
  11. Someday After Awhile
  12. San-Ho-Zay
  13. Stormy Monday

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Leave a Reply to hassan al ghul Cancel reply

  1. hassan al ghul