the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Ryan Madora’s Band Releases Debut Album

The InterludesNo Treble columnist Ryan Madora has released her debut album with her Nashville-based instrumental trio, The Interludes.

The self-titled album melds the feel and groove of bands like Booker T. & the MG’s with the exploratory qualities of groups like Medeski, Martin and Wood.

The trio, featuring Billy Nobel on keyboards, and Lynn Williams on drums and percussion, recorded the album by playing together, in one room at a studio in Pegram, Tennessee.

“We’re influenced by the great rhythm sections of Stax, Motown, and Muscle Shoals. Those players naturally clicked with one another—they sat together in the studio, jammed, and created incredible music. We figured that’d be a great way to make this record,” Madora said. The group also worked on the record with producer Fred Mollin (Johnny Mathis, Jimmy Webb, Kris Kristofferson).

Madora brings her own blues-based background to the mix with some interesting playing. Check her out on slide bass on the track “Grease On Our Hands”:

The Interludes is available on CD and digital download at CD Baby.

The Interludes Track List:

  1. Prelude
  2. D’funked (feat. Billy Nobel)
  3. Postlude
  4. The Lizard
  5. Grease On Our Hands (feat. Ryan Madora)
  6. Seven Point Two
  7. That’s the One (feat. Lynn Williams)
  8. Spring Ahead