Hendrix Live Album from 1970 Atlanta Set Released, Show Also Focus of Documentary

Jimi Hendrix Experience: Freedom: Atlanta Pop FestivalOn July 4, 1970, the Jimi Hendrix Experience performed in front of 300,000 people at the Second Atlanta International Pop Festival, which was viewed as a kind of “Southern Woodstock.”

Hendrix’s bassist for the performance was Billy Cox (who also played with Hendrix at Woodstock), who is interviewed (as is Paul McCartney) in the documentary about the show, called “Jimi Hendrix: Electric Church.” A legendary guitarist, Hendrix died just months later, on Sept. 18, 1970, at age 27. The Atlanta Pop Festival was filmed for a Woodstock-esque documentary that never materialized, and the footage remained in a barn for decades before being used for “Electric Church.”

While the film will premiere Sept. 4 on Showtime and receive a DVD/Blu-ray release Oct. 30, its live music is now available on Freedom: Atlanta Pop Festival. The album includes six performances not included in the film and is available in several formats, including a 200-gram vinyl edition, with the first 5,000 units individually numbered.

Check out “Purple Haze” from the doc/live album:

Freedom: Atlanta Pop Festival is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Freedom: Atlanta Pop Festival Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Fire
  2. Lover Man
  3. Spanish Castle Magic
  4. Red House
  5. Room Full Of Mirrors
  6. Hear My Train A Comin’
  7. Message To Love

Disc 2:

  1. All Along The Watchtower
  2. Freedom
  3. Foxey Lady
  4. Purple Haze
  5. Hey Joe
  6. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
  7. Stone Free
  8. Star Spangled Banner
  9. Straight Ahead

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts