Weezer Nods to Past Sound with “White Album”

Weezer: White AlbumWeezer’s latest album is a self-titled affair, to be known as the White Album.

The band’s 1994 self-titled studio debut is known as the Blue Album, and then there’s the self-titled 2001 record known as the Green Album, and 2008’s self-titled Red Album. The White Album’s producer, Jake Sinclair, who once even played in a Weezer tribute band, wanted to revisit the band’s 1990s sound this time out.

However, current bassist Scott Shriner wasn’t with the band back then (he came aboard in 2001 and has played on every Weezer disc since 2002’s Maladroit), which Sinclair acknowledged in a recent Rolling Stone article. “I wanted to give him a unique voice because I feel like a lot of Weezer fans are always going to be like, ‘He’s not Matt Sharp,'” he said. [Sharp was the band’s founding bassist, who played on its first two albums.] “I wanted to give him a stronger voice as a bass player. I had him spend time with Pet Sounds and really learn all the lyrical, beautiful bass parts that album has.” Sinclair notes in the article that he wanted, in part, to help the band reach back to the “summer Beach Boys grunge pop” of its debut.

Check out the album’s first singles: “King of the World” (first video), “L.A. Girlz” (second video) and “Thank God for Girls” (third video):

Weezer (White Album) is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

White Album Track List:

  1. California Kids
  2. Wind In Our Sail
  3. Thank God For Girls
  4. (Girl We Got A) Good Thing
  5. Do You Wanna Get High?
  6. King Of The World
  7. Summer Elaine and Drunk Dori
  8. L.A. Girlz
  9. Jacked Up
  10. Endless Bummer

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts