Ace Frehley Releases “Origins Vol. 1”

Ace Frehley: Origins Vol. 1Former Kiss guitarist Ace Frehley has released Origins Vol. 1, an album almost completely comprised of rock covers.

His onetime Kiss bandmate Paul Stanley guests on the album, as does Guns N’ Roses guitarist Slash, as well as vocalist/guitarist Lita Ford and Pearl Jam guitarist Mike McCready.

Chris Wyse (The Cult, Owl, Ozzy Osbourne, Mick Jagger) handles bass, as he did on Frehley’s 2014 album, Space Invader.

The album’s exceptions to the cover concept come courtesy of Frehley’s old band. Here, he plays the Kiss tunes “Parasite” and “Cold Gin.”

Check out Frehley’s take on Thin Lizzy’s “Emerald”:

Origins Vol. 1 is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Origins Vol. 1 Track List:

  1. White Room
  2. Street Fighting Man
  3. Spanish Castle Magic (feat. John 5)
  4. Fire and Water (feat. Paul Stanley)
  5. Emerald (feat. Slash)
  6. Bring It On Home
  7. Wild Thing (feat. Lita Ford)
  8. Parasite (feat. John 5)
  9. Magic Carpet Ride
  10. Cold Gin (feat. Mike McCready)
  11. Till the End of the Day
  12. Rock and Roll Hell

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts