The Melvins Have All The Bassists They Need on Latest Album

The Melvins: Basses LoadedThe Melvins have gone through a lot of bass players over the years. So, on its latest album, Basses Loaded, the band decided to go for broke and feature six different bassists.

Some, like Jeff Pinkus (Butthole Surfers), Trevor Dunn (Mr. Bungle/Fantomas), Jared Warren (Big Business) and Dale Crover, have appeared on Melvins albums before and perhaps will again. While others, like Krist Novoselic (Nirvana) and Steve McDonald (Redd Kross) are newer to the Melvins party.

According to guitarist/vocalist King Buzzo Osborne, “More is more! As hard as it might be to believe, all of these bass players contribute something of their own to Basses Loaded which gives the whole album a good kick right in its big fat ass.”

Check out “Hideous Woman” featuring McDonald:

Basses Loaded is available on CD, vinyl (July 1) and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Basses Loaded Track List (with bassist in parentheses):

  1. The Decay of Lying (Steve McDonald)
  2. Choco Plumbing (Jared Warren)
  3. Beer Hippie (Dale Crover)
  4. I Want To Tell You (Steve McDonald)
  5. Captain Come Down (Jeff Pinkus)
  6. Hideous Woman (Steve McDonald)
  7. Shaving Cream (Dale Crover)
  8. Planet Distructo (Trevor Dunn)
  9. War Pussy (Steve McDonald)
  10. Maybe I Am Amused (Krist Novoselic)
  11. Phyllis Dillard (Dale Crover)
  12. Take Me Out to the Ballgame (Dale Crover)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts