Paul McCartney Releases 67-Song Set

Paul McCartney: Pure McCartneyJust a little before his 74th birthday, rock/pop icon Paul McCartney has released a retrospective set called simply, Pure McCartney.

The set, in its deluxe form, includes 67 songs from all eras of the post-Beatles career of the bassist, vocalist, multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and singer, featuring his work as a solo artist, member of Wings, and with the Fireman. However, deluxe set begins and ends with songs that originally appeared on his first solo album, McCartney: The anthemic love song “Maybe I’m Amazed” kicks off the set, and the delicate “Junk” concludes it.

Between those two bookends, the music moves back and forth through McCartney’s catalog, with an early 1970s tune like “Another Day,” programmed just before the title track to his 1997 album Flaming Pie. In essence, it’s a McCartney-curated mixtape.

“Me and my team came up with the idea of putting together a collection of my recordings with nothing else in mind other than having something fun to listen to,” Paul says of this project. “Maybe it’s to be enjoyed on a long car journey or an evening at home or at a party with friends? So we got our heads together and came up with these diverse playlists from various periods of my long and winding career.”

The set even includes album tracks like “Dear Boy,” from 1971’s Ram, recorded with his late wife, Linda:

Pure McCartney is available as a 4 CD Deluxe Set, 4 LP vinyl set and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Pure McCartney Deluxe Track List (4 CD and digital download editions):

Disc 1:

  1. Maybe I’m Amazed
  2. Heart Of The Country
  3. Jet
  4. Warm And Beautiful
  5. Listen To What The Man Said
  6. Dear Boy
  7. Silly Love Songs
  8. The Song We Were Singing
  9. Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey
  10. Early Days
  11. Big Barn Bed
  12. Another Day
  13. Flaming Pie
  14. Jenny Wren
  15. Too Many People
  16. Let Me Roll It
  17. New

Disc 2:

  1. Live and Let Die
  2. English Tea
  3. Mull of Kintyre
  4. Save Us
  5. My Love
  6. Bip Bop
  7. Let ’Em In
  8. Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five
  9. Calico Skies
  10. Hi, Hi, Hi
  11. Waterfalls
  12. Band on the Run
  13. Appreciate
  14. Sing The Changes
  15. Arrow Through Me
  16. Every Night
  17. Junior’s Farm
  18. Mrs. Vandebilt

Disc 3:

  1. Say Say Say [2015 Remix]
  2. My Valentine
  3. Pipes of Peace
  4. The World Tonight
  5. Souvenir
  6. Dance Tonight
  7. Ebony and Ivory
  8. Fine Line
  9. Here Today
  10. Press
  11. Wanderlust
  12. Winedark Open Sea
  13. Beautiful Night
  14. Girlfriend
  15. Queenie Eye
  16. We All Stand Together

Disc 4:

  1. Coming Up
  2. Too Much Rain
  3. Good Times Coming/Feel the Sun
  4. Goodnight Tonight
  5. Baby’s Request
  6. With a Little Luck
  7. Little Willow
  8. Only Mama Knows
  9. Don’t Let it Bring You Down
  10. The Back Seat Of My Car
  11. No More Lonely Nights
  12. Great Day
  13. Venus and Mars/Rock Show
  14. Temporary Secretary
  15. Hope For The Future
  16. Junk

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts