Remastered Beatles “Live at The Hollywood Bowl” Released

The Beatles: Live at The Hollywood BowlA taste of Beatlemania has arrived in a familiar, remastered form.

The 1977 album, The Beatles: Live at The Hollywood Bowl, has been spruced up by the Giles Martin, the son of the band’s late, legendary producer, Sir George Martin. The album features performances from three sold-out Hollywood Bowl concerts in 1964 and 1965, when Beatlemania was at its height.

The elder Martin presided over the mixing of the original release, and Giles tells The Los Angeles Times that his father never liked the result, as reflected in the to the original album liner notes by George Martin: “The chaos, I might almost say panic, that reigned at these concerts was unbelievable unless you were there. Only three-track recording was possible; The Beatles had no ‘fold back’ [stage monitor] speakers, so they could not hear what they were singing, and the eternal shriek from 17,000 healthy, young lungs made even a jet plane inaudible.”

Giles Martin told The L.A. Times that for the reissue, he worked with some new tapes and technologies that improve sound clarity and bring the listener into a performance by the Fab Four: John Lennon, Paul McCartney (bass, of course), George Harrison and Ringo Starr.

The album reissue, which also features four previously unreleased performances and a 24-page booklet by music writer David Fricke, is being released as a companion to director Ron Howard’s documentary, “The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years,” which will begin streaming on Hulu on Sept. 17 after a brief appearance in theaters.

The Beatles: Live at The Hollywood Bowl is available on CD, vinyl (Nov. 18), and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Beatles: Live at The Hollywood Bowl Track List:

  1. Twist and Shout
  2. She’s a Woman
  3. Dizzy Miss Lizzy
  4. Ticket to Ride
  5. Can’t Buy Me Love
  6. Things We Said Today
  7. Roll Over Beethoven
  8. Boys
  9. A Hard Day’s Night
  10. Help!
  11. All My Loving
  12. She Loves You
  13. Long Tall Sally
  14. You Can’t Do That
  15. I Want to Hold Your Hand
  16. Everybody’s Trying to Be My Baby
  17. Baby’s in Black

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Harry Collier IV

    Will this recording include the voice of Newlywed Show’s Bob Eubanks? He is the one who mortgaged his house to bring them there and I believe he introduced the show.
    Just asking if we will get to hear the introduction on the album.