the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Matt Brewer Returns With Quintet Effort

Matt Brewer: UnspokenJazz bassist Matt Brewer (Greg Osby, Steve Coleman, Vijay Iyer) leads a quintet on his latest recording, Unspoken.

All the members of the quintet are top-notch players and improvisers younger than 40: tenor saxophonist Ben Wendel, pianist Aaron Parks, guitarist Charles Altura and drummer Tyshawn Sorey.

Together, they bring to life seven original Brewer compositions, and their versions of Bill Frisell’s “Twenty Years” and Charlie Parker’s “Cheryl.”

Unspoken is available on CD.

Unspoken Track List:

  1. Juno
  2. Unspoken
  3. Twenty Years
  4. Lunar
  5. Evil Song
  6. Cheryl
  7. Anthem
  8. Aspiring to Normalcy
  9. Tesuque

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts