Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Announces 2017 Inductees

Pearl Jam

Every year, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s class of inductees tends draws the ire of music fans around the world, but this year’s list seems to be a good fit. The group leans heavy on classic rock with folk, grunge, and rap to round it out.

2017’s inductees include Electric Light Orchestra, Yes, Journey, Joan Baez, Pearl Jam, and Tupac Shakur. Chic guitarist Nile Rodgers will receive a special award for musical excellence.

YesMaybe most importantly for bassists is the inclusion of Yes, which will be a posthumous recognition for the legendary bassist Chris Squire, who passed away last year. He was a founding and central member of the band, having never missed a gig since the band’s creation in 1968. Billy Sherwood has been filling his shoes since then.

Other bassists to be inducted are Electric Light Orchestra’s Kelly Groucutt, Journey’s Ross Valory and Pearl Jam’s Jeff Ament. Each inductee will honored at the induction ceremony, which will take place April 7th, 2017 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York.

Inductees are chosen by 900 voters from the Rock Hall Foundation with a vote cast by online fans, as well. Artists are eligible for inclusion 25 years after the release of their first recording.

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts