The Dropkick Murphys Return with “11 Short Stories of Pain & Glory”

The Dropkick Murphys: 11 Short Stories of Pain & GloryThe Dropkick Murphys are back with their ninth studio album, 11 Short Stories of Pain & Glory, their first since 2013’s Signed and Sealed in Blood. Anchored by bassist/vocalist Ken Casey, the album was influenced by the band’s work with their charity The Claddagh Fund, whose mission statement is to “raise money for the most underfunded non-profit organizations that support the vulnerable populations in our communities.”

This led to songs based on themes from children left behind by the system to battling opiate addiction. The latter is the reasoning behind covering “You’ll Never Walk Alone” from the musical Carousel. It may seem like an odd mix, but Casey explains.

“As you may know, opiate overdoses are an epidemic in America now particularly in [the Boston area],” he said. “I’ve been to thirty wakes in two years, three this week, one being my cousin, Al’s lost a brother in law. It’s hit home close to us. I was leaving one of the wakes and this song came on and as I was listening to the lyrics it summed up exactly how I was feeling. Sad but knowing there is hope. You never have to be alone. I hope you like our version”

11 Short Stories of Pain & Glory is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

11 Short Stories of Pain & Glory Track List:

  1. The Lonesome Boatman
  2. Rebels With a Cause
  3. Blood
  4. Sandlot
  5. First Class Loser
  6. Paying My Way
  7. I Had a Hat
  8. Kicked to the Curb
  9. You’ll Never Walk Alone
  10. 4-15-13
  11. Until Next Time

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts