Halo Orbit, Featuring Juan Alderete, Releases Debut Album

Halo OrbitHalo Orbit’s new self-titled debut album is available now. The trio is anchored by bass heavyweight Juan Alderete (Mars Volta, Deltron 3030), with drummer Mark Guiliana (David Bowie’s Blackstar, Beat Music) and guitarist suGar Yoshinaga (Buffalo Daughter). Each member’s unique voice blends to create incredible sonic explorations that range from atmospheric improvisations to trance to hip hop to grunge.

“Back in 2012 I started a band with two friends, the result of that friendship is the debut of Halo Orbit,” Alderete wrote on PedalsandEffects.com. “This is a project of three individuals whose friendship drove the idea of starting something together. I love this band because all who participated are musicians who continually strive to create something totally original.”

The album also has guest appearances from hip-hop legend Del the Funky Homosapien, Big Sir’s Lisa Papineau, Money Mark Ramos-Nishita, Adrian Terrazas Gonzalez and Marcel Rodriguez Lopez. Of course, the bassist makes good use of his extensive knowledge of effects with ear-bending hooks to draw you in.

Get a taste of the grittier side of the band with this cool animated video for “Angels Flight”:

Halo Orbit is available now as a digital download through Bandcamp, iTunes, and Amazon.

Halo Orbit Track List:

  1. Subump
  2. One of These Days (feat. Del the Funky Homosapien)
  3. Angels Flight
  4. Love or Lost (feat. Lisa Papineau)
  5. Halo Orbit
  6. Warped Descent (feat. Lisa Papineau)
  7. Brothers and Sisters (feat. Money Mark & Adrián Terrazas-Gonzalez)
  8. Trieste
  9. Roll the Dice (feat. Lisa Papineau)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts