Marilyn Manson Releases 11th Studio Album, “We Are Chaos”

Marilyn Manson: We Are ChaosShock-rock Marilyn Manson has returned with his eleventh studio album, called We Are Chaos. Produced by Shooter Jennings, the album has a concept and is split into two definable sides.

“This was recorded to its completion without anyone hearing it until it was finished. There is most definitely a side A and side B in the traditional sense. But just like an LP, it is a flat circle and it’s up to the listener to put the last piece of the puzzle into the picture of songs,” the singer explains. “This concept album is the mirror Shooter and I built for the listener — it’s the one we won’t stare into. There are so many rooms, closets, safes and drawers. But in the soul or your museum of memories, the worst are always the mirrors. Shards and slivers of ghosts haunted my hands when I wrote most of these lyrics. Making this record, I had to think to myself: ‘Tame your crazy, stitch your suit. And try to pretend that you are not an animal,’ but I knew that mankind is the worst of them all. Making mercy is like making murder. Tears are the human body’s largest export.”

We Are Chaos is the first to feature bassist Juan Alderete, who began performing with Manson in 2017. Alderete was involved in a horrific bicycle accident at the beginning of the year and has been unable to perform since then. (A GoFundMe to help with his expenses is still ongoing.) The rest of the album is filled out by Ted Russell Kamp, who regularly performs with Jennings.

Check out the album with this video for the title track:

We Are Chaos is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

We Are Chaos Track List:

  1. Red Black and Blue
  2. We Are Chaos
  3. Don’t Chase the Dead
  4. Paint You With My Love
  5. Half-Way & One Step Forward
  6. Infinite Darkness
  7. Perfume
  8. Keep My Head Together
  9. Solve Coagula
  10. Broken Needle

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts