Mr. Big Releases “Defying Gravity”

Mr. Big: Defying GravityMr. Big is back with a new album, entitled Defying Gravity. Their ninth album features the band’s original lineup of Eric Martin, Paul Gilbert, Billy Sheehan, and Pat Torpey as well as further drum work by Matt Starr. It is also the return of them working with producer Kevin Elson.

While the album includes a song called “1992” that recounts the days of their number one hit, “To Be With You”, Sheehan says the album is more than a look at the past. “I don’t look at [Mr. Big] so much as a nostalgia act but as a replaying of something that meant a lot to a lot of people, but doing it here and now,” he told the Washington Times. “To me it feels fresh, alive and enjoyable.”

That’s evidenced by the bassist’s killer playing on the 11-track collection. See for yourself with the music video for the title track:

Defying Gravity is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Defying Gravity Track List:

  1. Open Your Eyes
  2. Defying Gravity
  3. Everybody Needs a Little Trouble
  4. Damn I’m in Love Again
  5. Mean to Me
  6. Nothing Bad (Bout Feeling Good)
  7. Forever and Back
  8. She’s All Coming Back to Me Now
  9. 1992
  10. Nothing at All
  11. Be Kind

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts