Rediscovered Bill Evans Recording Features Eddie Gomez with Jack DeJohnette

Bill Evans: Another Time: The Hilversum ConcertBill Evans was one of the most influential jazz pianists ever, and he always played with top tier musicians. Now Resonance Records has released another example of that with Another Time: The Hilversum Concert. The album is a rare recording featuring his trio with Eddie Gomez and Jack DeJohnette. While Gomez had played with Evans for two years at the time of the recording (he would spend 11 years in the trio), it’s one of the few recordings capturing DeJohnette in the group.

It was recorded at the Netherlands Radio Union in Hilversum on June 22, 1968, with a small in-studio crowd. Evans, Gomez, and DeJohnette cover the pianist’s classic repertoire with takes of “Very Early”, “Nardis”, “Emily”, and more. Gomez revisited the recording and expressed his love for the piano genius’s playing.

“His exposition of melodies is really fabulous and very touching,” Gomez says. “I like the way he plays ‘Very Early’ and ‘Who Can I Turn To?’ and ‘Turn Out the Stars.’ Those are just beautiful melodies and the way he plays them, he sings them out. Very few pianists can sing like that. So I like those songs just for the way he plays the melody. That always touches me and it’s very emotional to hear him play those songs.”

Get the scoop on the album in this trailer:

Another Time: The Hilversum Concert is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Another Time: The Hilversum Concert Track List:

  1. You’re Gonna Hear from Me
  2. Very Early
  3. Who Can I Turn To?
  4. Alfie
  5. Embraceable You
  6. Emily
  7. Nardis
  8. Turn Out the Stars
  9. Five

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts