R.E.M. Releases “Automatic For The People” 25th Anniversary Reissue

R.E.M.: Automatic For The People 25th Anniversary Reissue

It’s been 25 years since R.E.M.’s iconic album Automatic For The People and Concord’s Craft Recordings is celebrating with a deluxe reissue. Available in three versions, the remastered album includes their hits “Nightswimming,” “Man on the Moon” and “Everybody Hurts.” While it’s a hugely important record to so many people, the band members didn’t necessarily set out to make it that way.

“Starting with Reckoning, we expected the next record to be completely disliked and unpopular,” bassist Mike Mills told Uproxx. “So since that didn’t matter, there wasn’t a whole lot of pressure. We just went in and had fun and made the record we wanted.”

The box set comes with previously unreleased material, music videos, and the original 1992 EPK. Check out this unboxing with Mills, Michael Stipe and Anton Corbijn:

The Automatic For The People 25th Anniversary Reissue is available now in a 3CD+Blu-Ray set, vinyl, and as a digital download.

Automatic For The People 25th Anniversary Reissue Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Drive
  2. Try Not to Breathe
  3. The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite
  4. Everybody Hurts
  5. New Orleans Instrumental No. 1
  6. Sweetness Follows
  7. Monty Got A Raw Deal
  8. Ignoreland
  9. Star Me Kitten
  10. Man on the Moon
  11. Nightswimming
  12. Find the River

Disc 2:

  1. Drive
  2. Monty Got A Raw Deal
  3. Everybody Hurts
  4. Man On The Moon
  5. Losing My Religion
  6. Country Feedback
  7. Begin The Begin
  8. Fall On Me
  9. Me In Honey
  10. Finest Worksong
  11. Love Is All Around
  12. Funtime
  13. Radio Free Europe

Disc 3:

  1. Drive (demo)
  2. Wake Her Up (demo)
  3. Mike’s Pop Song (demo)
  4. C to D Slide 13 (demo)
  5. Cello Scud (demo)
  6. 10K Minimal (demo)
  7. Peter’s New Song (demo)
  8. Eastern 983111 (demo)
  9. Bill’s Acoustic (demo)
  10. Arabic Feedback (demo)
  11. Howler Monkey (demo)
  12. Pakiderm (demo)
  13. Afterthought (demo)
  14. Bazouki Song (demo)
  15. Photograph (demo)
  16. Michael’s Organ (demo)
  17. Pete’s Acoustic Idea (demo)
  18. 6 – 8 Passion & Voc (demo)
  19. Hey Love [Mike Voc] (demo)
  20. Devil Rides Backwards (demo)

Disc 4:

  1. Automatic For The People (+ bonus track: Photograph) – Mixed in Dolby Atmos
  2. Automatic For The People (+ bonus track: Photograph) – Hi – Resolution Audio
  3. Drive (music video)
  4. The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite (music video)
  5. Everybody Hurts (music video)
  6. Man On The Moon (music video)
  7. Nightswimming (music video – British version)
  8. Find The River
  9. Nightswimming (music video – R version)
  10. Automatic Press Kit

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts