Tim Lefebvre Featured on Donny McCaslin’s “Blow.”

Donny McCaslin: Blow.Donny McCaslin has released Blow., an album his website says “fully realizes [David] Bowie’s influence and McCaslin’s evolved artistic direction.” The saxophonist worked with the pop megastar on Bowie’s final album, Blackstar, which was released just days before Bowie’s death in 2016.

“Before working with him, things like this didn’t seem possible to me,” McCaslin explains. “The affirmation of that project and how wonderfully that turned out artistically — I feel like anything is possible now. His aesthetic in the studio was, ‘Go for what you’re hearing, don’t worry about what it’s going to be called or categorized as.'”

Part of the magic from that experience is held over with the continued collaboration of Blackstar bandmates Mark Guiliana, Jason Lindner, and Tim Lefebvre. The rest of the album is filled out by Zach Danziger on drums/programming as well as Ryan Dahle, Jeff Taylor, and Bowie alum Gail Ann Dorsey on vocals.

“I had a great time recording this album with the guys, and it includes a track I co-wrote called ‘What About The Body,'” Lefebvre shared on his website. Hear the track below:

Blow. is availble now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Blow. Track List:

  1. What About The Body
  2. Club Kidd
  3. Break The Bond
  4. New Kindness
  5. Exactlyfourminutesofimprovisedmusic
  6. Tiny Kingdom
  7. Great Destroyer
  8. The Opener (Featuring Sun Kil Moon)
  9. Beast
  10. Tempest
  11. Eye Of The Beholder

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts