Jimmy Haslip Joins Otmaro Ruíz and Jimmy Branly for “Elemental”

Otmaro Ruiz, Jimmy Branly & Jimmy Haslip: ElementalJimmy Haslip has been staying busy this year. After releasing an album with the ARC Trio, he’s now teamed up with pianist Otmaro Ruíz and percussionist Jimmy Branly for a new record called Elemental. The trio record is described as “a current jazz classic bringing elements of old and new to keep fans on their toes.”

The former Yellowjacket bassist holds down the low end with a gorgeous tone, occasionally stepping out for solos. Check out the spacey vibe on “Greed,” which features a thoughtful bass break at the 3:23 mark:

Elemental is available now as a digital download via iTunes and Amazon MP3.

Elemental Track List:

  1. A Good Start
  2. Greed
  3. Dig
  4. Boomtown
  5. Red Wall (Va a Caer)
  6. Low Row
  7. The Waiting Game
  8. Part Time Smart
  9. Dark Waters
  10. Surreptitious Moves

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts