Nathan Navarro Contributes to New Devin Townsend Album, “Empath”

Devin Townsend: EmpathDevin Townsend has returned with his eighteenth studio album, entitled Empath, which marks his first solo album since 2014’s Dark Matters. The work is a snapshot of all of the multi-instrumentalist’s interests.

“On this album Devin has decided to see what would happen if all the styles that make up his current interests were finally represented in one place,” a Facebook post explained. “To finally shake the fear of expectation, and just do what it is he was meant to do creatively, Empath, true to the name, is about allowing the audience a feeling for a variety of musical emotions. The musical dynamics represented on this single album are broad, challenging, and immense. To approach this sort of work with a long history of what makes heavy music ‘heavy’, allows this to be done with a type of power rarely heard.”

While Townsend performed much of the album himself (including bass), he had several guest artists to fill it out. Steve Vai, Morgan Agren, Chad Kroeger, Ryan Dahle, and more contributed to several tracks. Townsend split the bass duties with Nathan Navarro, who shared this monster playthrough of “Evermore”:

Empath is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Empath Track List:

  1. Castaway
  2. Genesis
  3. Spirits Will Collide
  4. Evermore
  5. Sprite
  6. Hear Me
  7. Why?
  8. Borderlands
  9. Requiem
  10. Singularity

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts