The Stray Cats Return with “40”

The Stray Cats: 40The Stray Cats are back! The classic rockabilly band has just released a new album called 40 that celebrates forty years since the group’s inception. It features the original lineup of guitarist Brian Setzer, drummer Slim Jim Phantom, and bassist Lee Rocker. 40 marks their first record or new music in 26 years.

“This new album really feels like the first record we did, it’s really natural and comfortable,” says Rocker. “For the recording, we went live–like doing a gig, we recorded in a real, organic way. We were all in one room standing next to each other recording live, with the amps turned up to 10, it captured the undefinable things that happen when a band is great, it captured the magic that takes place and an undefined spark.”

Check out Rocker slapping in the studio in this video for the new track “Rock It Off”:

40 is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

40 Track List:

  1. Cat Fight (Over a Dog Like Me)
  2. Rock It Off
  3. I’ve Got Love If You Want It
  4. Cry Danger
  5. I Attract Trouble
  6. Three Time’s A Charm
  7. That’s Messed Up
  8. When Nothing’s Going Right
  9. Desperado
  10. Mean Pickin’ Mama
  11. I’ll Be Looking Out For You
  12. Devil Train

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts