Casey Abrams Releases “Jazz”

Casey Abrams: JazzCasey Abrams has returned with a new album simply entitled Jazz. The bassist, who caught the nation’s attention during a 2011 run on American Idol, honors the American tradition with standards and pop songs.

“We are each unique artists, and when unique artists get together, I feel we create a fresh and unheard of jazz experience each time,” he told Pop Dust. “For me, jazz is the harvesting of our own unique feelings and experiences, and together we create a completely new experience of the song. In a way, we’re using the paints presented in the original artwork (the song) to color it in our own communal way.”

Abrams is joined by horns and guitar on songs like “Autumn Leaves,” “Why Don’t You Do Right?” and “I’ve Got the World on a String,” while sparser arrangements add intimacy several tracks. He keeps things to just bass and voice on the album closer, “Blackbird.”

Jazz is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Jazz Track List:

  1. Autumn Leaves
  2. I’ve Got the World on a String
  3. Need Your Love So Bad
  4. You Are So Beautiful
  5. Why Don’t You Do Right?
  6. Hound Dog
  7. One Note Samba
  8. L-O-V-E
  9. The Girl From Ipanema
  10. Fly Me to the Moon
  11. Round Midnight
  12. Blackbird

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts