“Abbey Road” Gets 50th Anniversary Edition

The Beatles: Abbey Road 50th Anniversary Super Deluxe EditionOnce again, the music of 1969 is being celebrated on its fiftieth anniversary. This time it’s one of the biggest albums ever produced: Abbey Road by The Beatles.

The legendary album is available in several packages with brand new stereo mixes and additional session takes as well as demo recordings. Each of the songs was remixed by Giles Martin, son of original engineer George Martin. “The magic comes from the hands playing the instruments, the blend of The Beatles’ voices, the beauty of the arrangements,” Martin writes in the liner notes. “Our quest is simply to ensure everything sounds as fresh and hits you as hard as it would have on the day it was recorded.”

The Fab Four’s penultimate LP is loaded with some of Paul McCartney’s bass lines including “Come Together,” “Something,” “I Want You (She’s So Heavy),” and more. A super deluxe box set of the release includes a 100-page hardbound book with a foreword by the bassist. “The Beatles recording journey had gone through many twists and turns, learning curves and thrilling rides. Here we were – still wondering at the magic of it all,” he writes.

Hear McCartney loud and clear on this fresh mix of “Here Comes the Sun”:

The Abbey Road 50th Anniversary Edition is available in Super Deluxe (CD, vinyl, MP3) and Deluxe (CD, vinyl) editions as well as standard CD, picture vinyl and digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Abbey Road 50th Anniversary Super Deluxe Track List:
Disc 1:

  1. Come Together
  2. Something
  3. Maxwell’s Silver Hammer
  4. Oh! Darling
  5. Octopus’s Garden
  6. I Want You (She’s So Heavy)
  7. Here Comes The Sun
  8. Because
  9. You Never Give Me Your Money
  10. Sun King
  11. Mean Mr Mustard
  12. Polythene Pam
  13. She Came In Through The Bathroom Window
  14. Golden Slumbers
  15. Carry That Weight
  16. The End
  17. Her Majesty

Disc 2:

  1. I Want You (She’s So Heavy) (Trident Recording Session & Reduction Mix)
  2. Goodbye (Home Demo)
  3. Something (Studio Demo)
  4. The Ballad Of John And Yoko (Take 7)
  5. Old Brown Shoe (Take 2)
  6. Oh! Darling (Take 4)
  7. Octopus’s Garden (Take 9)
  8. You Never Give Me Your Money (Take 36)
  9. Her Majesty (Takes 1-3)
  10. Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight (Takes 1-3 / Medley)
  11. Here Comes The Sun (Take 9)
  12. Maxwell’s Silver Hammer (Take 12)

Disc 3:

  1. Come Together (Take 5)
  2. The End (Take 3)
  3. Come And Get It (Studio Demo)
  4. Sun King (Take 20)
  5. Mean Mr Mustard (Take 20)
  6. Polythene Pam (Take 27)
  7. She Came In Through The Bathroom Window (Take 27)
  8. Because (Take 1 – Instrumental)
  9. The Long One (Trial Edit & Mix – 30 July 1969) (Medley: You Never Give Me Your Money, Sun King, Mean Mr Mustard, Her Majesty, Polythene Pam, She Came In Through The Bathroom Window, Golden Slumbers, Carry That Weight, The End)
  10. Something (Take 39 – Instrumental – Strings Only)
  11. Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight (Take 17 – Instrumental – Strings & Brass Only)

Disc 4:

  1. Blu-ray disc

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts