Pablo Elorza Releases “Jaco Pastorius Tribute” Album

Pablo Elorza: Jaco Pastorius TributePablo Elorza has paid homage to his bass idol on his new album, Jaco Pastorius Tribute. The bassist, who has shared several great Jaco lessons with us, covers some of the legend’s best known songs as well as a few more obscure numbers.

Elorza arranged each of the Pastorius compositions for bass, guitar, piano, drums, and cello. His playing throughout the record is thoroughly in the Jaco style, though he expands on each piece to imbue his own character as well. As you might expect from a tribute album to Pastorius, the bass playing is incredible in both execution and tone.

Check out the opening track, “Funky Medley,” which melds “Barbary Coast,” “River People,” and “Opus Pocus” into one:

Jaco Pastorius Tribute is available now as a digital download from Elorza’s website.

Jaco Pastorius Tribute Track List:

  1. Funky Meldy
  2. Three Women
  3. Teen Town/Havona
  4. Continuum
  5. Liberty City
  6. Las Olas
  7. John & Mary
  8. Las Olas Outtake

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts