The Allman Brothers Band Regroups for 50th Anniversary Tribute Show

Oteil Burbridge

Nearly six years after the band called it quits, the surviving members of the final Allman Brothers Band lineup will be reuniting for a special 50th-anniversary tribute show. The band, which will now be called The Brothers since the passing of Gregg Allman in 2017, will consist of drummer Jaimoe Johanson, guitarists Warren Haynes and Derek Trucks, percussionist Marc Quinones, and bassist Oteil Burbridge. The remaining members will be joined by drummer Duane Trucks, organist Reese Wynans, and pianist Chuck Leavell.

“It’s a way of honoring 50 years of the band and honoring Duane, Gregg, Berry and Butch and the music they created,” Warren Haynes told Rolling Stone. “That music deserves a 50th-anniversary celebration. Most rock bands never thought they’d even see their 50th anniversary. And, of course, this one didn’t. So in a way, this brings some sort of closure.”

Burbridge first joined the band’s ranks in March 1997 after Allen Woody left to focus on Gov’t Mule. He served as their bassist all the way through 2014, making him the longest-serving bassist in the band’s history.

The Brothers celebration of fifty years of The Allman Brothers Band will take place on March 10th at Madison Square Garden in New York City. Until then, check out Burbridge throwing down on “Whipping Post” in 2013:

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts