Ben Kenney Releases Solo Album, “Must Be Nice”

Ben Kenney: Must Be NiceIncubus bassist Ben Kenney has released his sixth solo album, Must Be Nice. The record features seven original compositions with Kenney performing all of the instruments and vocals.

Similar to Incubus, there are some groove-oriented rock songs, but Must Be Nice has a nice variety of textures. The opener, “Over Me,” utilizes a wall of sound with sparse riffing to create atmosphere, while “Red Hots” drives things with manic unison bass and guitar riffs. Kenney also dives into synth bass on “The Flying Nurse” and ambient textures for “Sidereal.” Be sure to check out “Heavy” for a tasty bass solo.

Check out the album’s vibe with the music video for “Over Me”:

Must Be Nice is available now as a digital download via iTunes and Amazon MP3. A vinyl edition will be available soon.

Must Be Nice Track List:

  1. Over Me
  2. No Lives
  3. Red Hots
  4. Blue Tint
  5. Heavy
  6. Turned Out
  7. The Flying Nurse
  8. Sidereal

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts