Huntsmen Release “Mandala of Fear”

Huntsmen: Mandala of FearHunstmen have released a new album called Mandala of Fear, which is described as “storytelling through metal dynamically melded with elements of folk and country.” As such, the record explores varying textures over its thirteen tracks, which clock in at an hour and eighteen minutes.

“From bleak, soul crushing lows groaning a dirge of isolation and despair to sparkling, yearning highs speaking of vulnerability and hope, ‘Mandala of Fear’ follows a lone soldier in one of humanity’s last wars through a harrowing tale of survival, dread, brutal loss, and unquenchable resilience,” a press release states.

The Chicago-based quintet features the bass work of Marc Stranger-Najjar, whose monstrous sound helps to set the tone for the atmosphere. “On this record, the band let me flex a little bit,” he tells us. “Tracks like ‘Pirates of the Waste’ and ‘Colossus’ bring the bass really to the front. My Sandbergs and Darkglass gear really made the process quite easy, as the pairings were so effortless to dial in for my sound.”

Check out this animated video for the opening track, “Ride Out”:

Mandala of Fear is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Mandala of Fear Track List:

  1. Ride Out
  2. Colossus
  3. Atomic Storms
  4. God Will Stop Trying
  5. Pirates of the Waste
  6. Hill People Drugs
  7. Bone Cathedral
  8. A Nameless Dread
  9. Awake at Time’s End
  10. Loss
  11. The Silver Lining
  12. The Swallow
  13. Clearing The Sand

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts