Alex Dixon Releases “The Real McCoy”

Vintage Dixon: The Real McCoyAlex Dixon and his band Vintage Dixon have just released their new album, The Real McCoy. The grandson of blues and bass legend Willie Dixon, Alex called on a host of musicians to create an authentic Chicago blues album packed with original songs plus three of his grandfather’s songs.

“This time we used songs that weren’t like ‘Spoonful’ and ‘Hoochie Coochie Man’ and all the really famous songs,” Dixon explained in our interview. “I dug deeper in the catalog and found this song called “Spider in My Stew” that was recorded by Buster Benton, and awesome guitarist from Chicago when we were younger. He always did a great rendition of it, so I thought that would be a good song for [vocalist Lewis “Big Lew” Powell] because of the range.”

The album features several other members of prominent blues legacies. Dixon recruited harmonica players Sugar Blue and Steve Bell, drummer Alvino Bennett, and three guitarists – Melvin Taylor, Rico McFarland, and Gino Matteo – for the record. Dixon himself plays both electric and double bass throughout the album.

Check out the new original song “Nothing New Under the Sun”:

The Real McCoy is available now on CD and vinyl on his website and as a digital download.

The Real McCoy Track List:

  1. Nothing New Under the Sun
  2. Spider in My Stew
  3. The Real McCoy
  4. My Greatest Desire
  5. When I Make Love
  6. Howlin for My Darling
  7. Groaning the Blues
  8. 10,000 Miles Away
  9. Chi-Town Boogie
  10. I Want to Be Loved
  11. Chi-Town Boogie (Instrumental)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Don Sexton

    Thank you for keeping it alive and available for a new generation.