Mats Eilertsen Releases “Memorabilia”

Mats Eilertsen Trio: MemorabiliaJazz bassist Mats Eilertsen explores new textures to blur genres – and centuries – on his new album, Memorabilia. The record matches his trio, featuring pianist Harmen Fraanje and drummer Thomas Strønen, with the vocal ensemble Trio Mediaeval, comprised of Anna Maria Friman, Linn Andrea Fuglseth and Jorunn Lovise Husan.

“The music unites the two trios in a sacred, lyrical expression, giving the piano trio room to improvise and the vocal trio space to shine,” the album notes read. “The lyrics are a mixture of traditional masses and poems by the Norwegian lyricist Tor Ulven. About faith, doubt, nostalgia and time.”

“Sanctus” showcases the mass portion of the album with sparse playing to highlight the delicate beauty of Trio Mediaeval’s voices. Eilertsen and Fraanje play a few unison lines, but also work off of each other to create lots of space.

Memorabilia is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Memorabilia Track List:

  1. Veni
  2. Stillheten
  3. Memorabilia I
  4. Swedenborg
  5. Kyrie
  6. Hjertet
  7. Memorabilia II
  8. Sanctus
  9. Som da du
  10. Fotografiet
  11. Memorabilia III
  12. Agnus Dei
  13. Minutter
  14. Memorabilia IV
  15. Snøfnuggene
  16. Memorabilia V
  17. Gloria

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts