Western Addiction’s “Frail Bray” Fueled by Mitch Paglia’s Bass

Western Addiction: Frail BrayWestern Addiction has returned with a crushing new album called Frail Bray. While the West Coast hardcore band’s new release has tracks called “Utter Despair” and “Deranged by Grief,” vocalist Jason Hall says the record is more positive in nature than its predecessor, Tremulous.

“’Tremulous’ just felt pretty depressing,” Hall says. “I was like, ‘Man, I can be this upset, or I can try to be optimistic. You always have to try, you know? So I was like, ‘What if we made a hopeful record?’”

Another difference in the albums is the addition of bassist Mitch Paglia, who joined in 2017. His snarling tone and aggressive lines help to keep thing heavy, especially on the track “They Burned Our Paintings”:

Also be sure to check out his melodic style around the 2-minute mark in “Rose’s Hammer, Pt II”:

Frail Bray is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download on iTunes, Amazon MP3, and Bandcamp.

Frail Bray Track Listing:

  1. The Leopard and the Juniper
  2. They Burned Our Paintings
  3. Frail Bray
  4. Lurchers
  5. Rose’s Hammer, Pt. 1
  6. Rose’s Hammer, Pt. 2
  7. Laurette
  8. Utter Despair
  9. Wildflowers of Italy
  10. We Lived in Ultraviolet
  11. Deranged by Grief

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts