The Pretenders Release “Hate For Sale”

The Pretenders: Hate For SaleThe Pretenders have released their 11th studio album, entitled Hate For Sale, which serves as a grounding back to the group’s straight-ahead rock. Fronted by guitarist/vocalist Chrissie Hynde, the band’s lineup for the album includes original drummer Martin Chambers, who was absent from their recordings since 2002’s Loose Screw.

Hate For Sale was produced by Stephen Street (The Smiths, Blur) with Hynde co-writing with guitarist James Walbourne. “I wanted to write with him since day one,” she states. “James is especially sought after and has recorded with Jerry Lee Lewis, Dave Gahan, and The Rails, to name but a few. We always planned on writing while on the road, but as anyone in a band will tell you, being on tour is a procrastinator’s dream come true”.

It once again features bassist Nick Wilkinson, who slips between the album’s varying styles with ease. Check out his fine bass work on the mid-tempo “You Can’t Hurt a Fool”:

Hate For Sale is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Hate For Sale Track List:

  1. Hate for Sale
  2. The Buzz
  3. Lightning Man
  4. Turf Accountant Daddy
  5. You Can’t Hurt a Fool
  6. I Didn’t Know When to Stop
  7. Maybe Love Is in NYC
  8. Junkie Walk
  9. Didn’t Want to Be This Lonely
  10. Crying in Public

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Troy Hughes

    Sounds great! This was one of the shows I was most sorry to miss because of Covid-19 this year. I hope they make it back around.