McBride and Panascia Groove on Dan Wilson’s “Vessels of Wood and Earth”

Dan Wilson: Vessels of Wood and EarthDan Wilson has just released Vessels of Wood and Earth, an album that reflects on society’s tendency “to look at the shiny exteriors that attract us in an instant, rather than appreciate the less readily apparent structures that actually support the house.” The jazz guitarist does so with five original compositions as well as covers of classics by Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, and Ted Daffan. As such, the music is rooted in tradition while still moving into the modern world.

Vessels marks the second release on Christian McBride’s Brother Mister Records. McBride, who recruited Wilson for his Tip City trio, himself produced the album and plays on two tracks. The rest of the album features the remarkable Marco Panascia, who brings a joy to the music through his bass lines. He’s equally comfortable in the jazz, Motown, and gospel traditions from which Wilson draws his inspiration.

“I try to elicit the same kind of visceral response to the music that I get in my gut while making it,” comments Wilson. “I want to convey the joy I get out of making the music.”

Check out this live version of “Who Shot John” featuring a cool bass line and inspired solo by Panascia at the 4:25 mark:

Vessels of Wood and Earth is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Vessels of Wood and Earth Track List:

  1. The Rhythm Section
  2. Bird of Beauty
  3. The Reconstruction Beat
  4. Vessels of Wood and Earth
  5. Who Shot John
  6. After the Rain/Save the Children
  7. Inner City Blues
  8. Juneteenth
  9. Cry Me A River
  10. James
  11. Born to Lose

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts