Kenny Garrett Releases “Sounds From The Ancestors” Featuring Corcoran Holt on Bass

Kenny Garrett: Sounds From the AncestorsModern saxophone titan Kenny Garrett has released his 20th album as a leader, entitled Sounds From the Ancestors. The album is a culmination of the music from Garrett’s hometown of Detroit – jazz, R&B, and gospel – that also reflects sounds from Cuba, Nigeria, and Guadeloupe.

“The concept initially was about trying to get some of the musical sounds that I remembered as a kid growing up — sounds that lift your spirit from people like John Coltrane, ‘A Love Supreme’; Aretha Franklin, ‘Amazing Grace’; Marvin Gaye, ‘What’s Going On’; and the spiritual side of the church,” he explains. “When I started to think about them, I realized it was the spirit from my ancestors.”

Many of the polyrhythms throughout the work are held over the muscular bass lines of Corcoran Holt, who has been with the bandleader for over a decade. “This album is an enjoyable ride that goes in different directions musically and spiritually,” the bassist wrote on Facebook. “Thankful and honored to be playing bass on this project. This album definitely comes at a great time. There is so much going on right now. Music is a healing force, and we all can use some healing. Check it out!”

Check out Holt’s doubled lines on “It’s Time to Come Home”:

Sounds From the Ancestors is avaialble now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Sounds From The Ancestors Track List:

  1. It’s Time To Come Home
  2. Hargrove
  3. When the Days Were Different
  4. For Art’s Sake
  5. What Was That?
  6. Soldiers of the Fields / Soldats des Champs
  7. Sounds from the Ancestors
  8. It’s Time to Come Home (Original)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts