Classic Eberhard Weber Concert Gets Album Release

Eberhard Weber: Once Upon a Time - Live in AvignonA rare concert from Eberhard Weber has just come to light with the release of his new album, Once Upon a Time – Live in Avignon. Taken from a 1994 solo bass concert at the Festival International De Contrebasse, the recording is a showcase of his innovative approach to the bass. Weber uses looping and effects to flesh out the songs from his albums Orchestra (1988) and Pendulum (1993). The music is improvisatory, though Weber told Bass Player Magazine in 1994 that it’s not exactly jazz.

“When I was young, I envied all the American jazz players and wanted to play like them, without thinking too much about my roots – but they kept seeping into my music,” he said. “Over the decades, I came to realize that I am a European. My family is European and I grew up listening to European classical music. I’m classically trained; that’s my background. So I’m not a jazz bassist – I play European improvised music!”

Get a taste of the album with “Pendulum”:

Once Upon A Time – Live in Avignon is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Once Upon A Time – Live in Avignon Track List:

  1. Pendulum
  2. Trio For Bassoon and Bass
  3. Ready Out There
  4. Silent For A While
  5. Delirium
  6. My Favorite Things
  7. Air

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Susan Waters

    Eberhard is an extraordinary deep musician whose music I fell in love with when I was 24 years old. Many blessings to him and his ‘European improvised music’ as he calls it. He has made a great contribution in the world of music from the esoteric spheres of sound itself.