Soilwork Announces Permanent Bassist


Photo by Stephansdotter Photography

Swedish melodic death metal band Soilwork has announced that Rasmus Ehrnborn is now their permanent bassist. The role was opened with Markus Wilbom’s departure in 2017, after which Ehrnborn began working with the group.

“We are very pleased to welcome Rasmus Ehrnborn to the Soilwork family,” the band said in a statement. “At the same time, this is the announcement that he is now our official bassist and permanent band member. Since VERKLIGHETEN (2019) Rasmus has been at our side on stage and was also involved in the recording of the EP A WHISP OF THE ATLANTIC. In addition, it is already part of our new album, which will be released later this year. Rasmus is a world class musician and has become an important member of Soilwork. We are excited to see what the future will bring for us in this constellation.”

Ehrnborn also spoke on his newly cemented position. “Joining Soilwork was sort of a dream come true,” he said. “I’ve been a big fan of theirs for many years. Their musicianship and songwriting is fantastic. After touring and recording with these guys for the last couple of years I can call them all dear friends. I’m both humbled and proud to be a part of the next Soilwork chapter.”

Soilwork is currently finishing up a new album and released this quick teaser:

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts