Aerosmith’s Earliest Recordings Now Available on “The Road Starts Hear”

Aerosmith – 1971: The Road Starts HearAerosmith is celebrating their 50th anniversary with the release of Aerosmith – 1971: The Road Starts Hear. The eight tracks are the earliest known recordings of the band and showcase the raw energy of their youth. Bassist Tom Hamilton was just 19 years old.

“This landmark early recording was made with Joe Perry’s Wollensak reel-to-reel tape machine in 1971 by Mark Lehman who owned the infamous van and became Aerosmith’s one-man road crew, either in the band’s Boston rehearsal room in front of a few select friends, or at a rehearsal the band did during a soundcheck for an early show,” a press release explains. “All that is certain is that the tape captures a young, hungry rock band one year before being discovered and signing with Columbia Records and two years before their self-titled major label debut was released that helped catapult the band to one of the biggest rock acts of all time.”

The new album features an early version of what would become one of their signature hits, “Dream On,” as well as blues and rock grooves. Check out “Somebody”:

Aerosmith – 1971: The Road Starts Hear is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Aerosmith – 1971: The Road Starts Hear Track List:

  1. Intro
  2. Somebody
  3. Reefer Head Woman
  4. Walkin’ The Dog
  5. Movin’ Out
  6. Major Barbara
  7. Dream On
  8. Mama Kin

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts