Sadist Announces New Album with Jeroen Paul Thesseling

Sadist: FirescorchedItalian progressive death metal outfit Sadist has unveiled their ninth studio album, Firescorched, which will be dropping on May 20th. For this go around, co-founder Tommy Talamanca and longtime vocalist Trevor Sadist are joined by new drummer Romain Goulon as well as fretless bass wizard Jeroen Paul Thesseling.

“Firescorched can be described as Sadist 2.0,” comments Talamanca. “It’s not a real concept album in the classical meaning of the word, despite the fact that most of the lyrics are somehow connected. Some of them are real horror stories, and the whole album sounds really creepy. We all love the cover artwork, which adds to that feeling.”

Thesseling, who recently rejoined Obscura, adds his signature tones and fills to the music, which the band calls “the fastest, highly experimental and most extreme album” of their career. Get the scoop on his joining the recording from the bassist himself:

Sadist has unveiled the first single for the record with “Accabadora”, which includes a melodic breakdown on the bass at the 2:47 mark.

Firescorched is available for pre-order through the band’s website.

Firescorched Track List:

  1. Accabadora
  2. Fleshbound
  3. Finger Food
  4. Burial of a Clown
  5. Loa
  6. Aggression/Regression
  7. Three Mothers and the Old Devil Father
  8. Trauma (Impaired Mind Functionality)
  9. Firescorched
  10. Rerek *
  11. Accabadora (Atitai)*

* Box CD bonus tracks

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts