Obscura Releases “A Valediction” With Jeroen Paul Thesseling

Obscura: A ValedictionAfter announcing a big lineup change in 2020, Obscura has a new album called A Valediction. The record marks the first of a trilogy concept that will be followed up with two more albums. Their previous album, Diluvium, wrapped up a four-album cycle.

“Lyrically, ‘A Valediction’ is layered in structure and meaning. The word ‘valediction,’ by definition, deals with goodbyes and farewells,” record label Nuclear Blast writes. “In a way, this is auf wiedersehen to the four-part album series while also addressing complex topics of [frontman Steffen Kummerer’s] personal life. Instead of obscuring issues of loss, death, and abandonment in metaphor and allusion, the German laid bare his torment across songs like ‘Forsaken,’ ‘Solaris,’ ‘In Unity,’ ‘The Neuromancer,’ and ‘In Adversity.’ But for every line of desperation, he also offers positivity. Indeed, new beginnings—physical, emotional, or environmental—can provide light in the darkness.”

The lineup change includes the reintroduction of fretless bass wizard Jeroen Paul Thesseling, who previously played with Obscura from 2007 to 2011. Hear all about his return to the band as well as his recording process in this clip from a documentary of the album’s making:

Check out his lyrical playing in the title track:

A Valediction is available now on CD, vinyl, and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

A Valediction Track List:

  1. Forsaken
  2. Solaris
  3. A Valediction
  4. When Stars Collide
  5. In Unity
  6. Devoured Usurper
  7. The Beyond
  8. Orbital Elements II
  9. The Neuromancer
  10. In Adversity
  11. Heritage

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts