Brian Bromberg Reissues Five Albums from Japan’s King Records

Brian Bromberg: Five Album Reissues

Brian Bromberg has had international success as a bassist, recording albums for labels all over the world. Now he’s reissued five titles cut for Japan’s King Records between 2003 and 2011. The albums, which range from solo bass to jazz-inflected classical music, are out on digital services to allow them to be widely available for the first time.

“When you do something that you’re proud of, and it sits on a shelf and doesn’t get released, it’s very frustrating,” Bromberg says. “So it’s doubly exciting that I can now get this out to the world, and people can actually hear it now. Whether they like it or not is entirely up to them, but at least I feel good about the fact that at least it’s out there.”

A Bass Odyssey sees Bromberg utilizing bass, piccolo bass, and drums to reimagine classical pieces like Also Sprach Zarathustra. Hands is a solo bass expedition where he uses just his bass to explore songs ranging from the jazz standard “Stella By Starlight” to The Police’s “King of Pain.”

“I’m really glad I did the record,” Bromberg says. “I don’t know if I’ll ever do another solo record just because you gotta be on your game. It’s live. You can’t fake it. It takes a lot of focus to really nail the performance and nail the pitch and get it right. It was a wonderful experience. That’s off my bucket list, and now I’m good. Maybe someday, if I have the nerve, I’ll do it again.”

Wrapping up the reissues is a three-part collection of albums called The JB Project: Brombo. The “J” of “JB” is drummer and composer Akira Jimbo, who teamed up with Bromberg. The duo was joined by keyboardists Otmaro Ruiz, Patrice Rushen, and Jeff Lorber to cover tons of musical ground, from “Giant Steps” to “Summer Breeze.”

“I’m really excited to get those records out in this country because I think there’s some really decent music on there. There are some good tunes and really good playing. Otmaro’s amazing. A lot of people in America are not familiar with Akira. I get to expose, you know, this talented guy to America and also just get some of this music out.”

Bromberg’s Hands, A Bass Odyssey, and The JB Project: Brombo I, II, & III are available now.

The JB Project: Brombo Track List:

  1. Giant Steps
  2. And I Love Her
  3. Mambo No. 5
  4. Ode to Joy
  5. Leisure Suit
  6. Summer Breeze
  7. So What
  8. Brombo
  9. Wishful

The JB Project: Brombo II Track List:

  1. Action Figure
  2. Tell Me a Bed Time Story
  3. The Sound of Music
  4. You & I
  5. Steppin’ Out
  6. Fields of Gold
  7. Daisy Bloom
  8. Nardis
  9. Towed
  10. Going Home
  11. I Got Rhythm

The JB Project: Brombo III Track List:

  1. Actual Proof
  2. Stratus
  3. Hybrid Life
  4. Teen Town
  5. Rory Lowrey, Private Eye
  6. I Can’t Tell You Why
  7. Eleven Thirty
  8. From Darkness to Light
  9. Bromblue
  10. Strut Ahead

A Bass Odyssey Track List:

  1. Also Sprach Zarathustra
  2. Swan Lake
  3. Prelude in G
  4. Beethoven 5th
  5. Fur Elise
  6. Hungarian Dance #5
  7. Bolero
  8. In the Hall of the Mountain King
  9. Stranger in Paradise
  10. Rhapsody in Blue
  11. Ode to Joy
  12. Mothra Theme

Hands Track List:

  1. Use Me
  2. Beatles Medley
  3. Black Dog
  4. What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life?
  5. Cute
  6. King of Pain
  7. Stella By Starlight
  8. The Pink Panther
  9. Solar
  10. Black Orpheus
  11. Teen Town
  12. In a Sentimental Mood
  13. Recordame
  14. In Your Own Sweet Way
  15. The Flintstones
  16. Susumu’s Blues
  17. What is This Thing Called Love
  18. Yeah

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts