Gorillaz Release Star-Studded “Cracker Island”

Gorillaz: Cracker IslandEveryone’s favorite virtual band has returned. Cracker Island marks the eighth studio album from Gorillaz, and it sees character bassist Murdoc Niccals and his bandmates joined by tons of talented guests, including Stevie Nicks, Adeleye Omotayo, Tame Impala, Bad Bunny, Bootie Brown, and Beck.

The 10-song album was mostly recorded by “permanent collaborator” and mastermind Damon Albarn and co-producer Greg Kurstin. While the duo handled most of the bass work, Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker laid down the low end on “New Gold” while Thundercat put his own touches on the opening title track.

“Bringing in Thundercat was a really fun flavor to bring to the album. This wild, sort of uptempo disco song,” said Kurstin. “I had just been working with Thundercat, and we had become friends. I texted him, and he said, ‘Yes, definitely, I’ll do it.’ It was very fun to watch him work on it and to hear him write his melody parts. He sang a lot of what Damon sang and then added his own thing and the harmonies. It’s always fun to witness him play, because he’s absolutely amazing on the bass.”

Watch the music video for “Cracker Island”:

Parker crafted a catchy bass line for “New Gold”:

Cracker Island is out now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Cracker Island Track List:

  1. Cracker Island (feat. Thundercat)
  2. Oil (feat. Stevie Nicks)
  3. The Tired Influencer
  4. Silent Running (feat. Adeleye Omotayo)
  5. New Gold (feat. Tame Impala and Bootie Brown)
  6. Baby Queen
  7. Tarantula
  8. Tormenta (feat. Bad Bunny)
  9. Skinny Ape
  10. Possession Island (feat. Beck)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts