Cory Wong Releases “The Lucky One”

Cory Wong: The Lucky OneYou may not know it, but modern funk guitar hero Cory Wong actually got his musical start on the bass. That may explain his impeccable taste in bassists and his affinity for touring with them (see Sonny T., Victor Wooten, and Joe Dart), as well as his exceptional pocket.

Wong has just returned with a new solo album called The Lucky One, featuring both his guitar and bass talents. The 12-track record blends styles and genres with a wealth of guest artists.

“Most of the albums I’ve made have all been recorded live in a room or on the set of my YouTube variety show,” says Wong. “This time around I wanted to have a more controlled and isolated studio environment that really showcases more of my chops as a producer. The spirit of this album is in collaboration, and I’m thrilled to have some of my favorite artists on this album as collaborators.”

The Lucky One has appearances by Allen Stone, O.A.R., dodie, Louis Cole, Ben Rector, Ariel Posen, Brasstracks, and Big Gigantic. Wong handles bass on about half of the record, while the rest is taken up by regular collaborators Seth Tackaberry and Yohannes Tona.

Check out one of the bass highlights of the album with Tona taking the lead at the 4:12 mark of “Separado”:

The Lucky One is available now digitally through iTunes, Amazon MP3, and more.

The Lucky One Track List:

  1. Look At Me (feat. Allen Stone)
  2. Hiding On The Moon (feat. O.A.R.)
  3. Call Me Wild (feat. dodie)
  4. The Grid Generation (feat. Louis Cole)
  5. Separado
  6. Acceptance
  7. Ready (feat. Ben Rector)
  8. Ain’t Life Strange (feat. Ariel Posen)
  9. Flamingo (feat. Brasstracks)
  10. Anonymous
  11. Brooklyn Bop
  12. Ace (feat. Big Gigantic)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts