Jonathan Scales Fourchestra Releases “Re-Potted”

Jonathan Scales Fourchestra: Re-PottedJonathan Scales Fourchestra has just released their eighth album, entitled Re-Potted, which the steel pan virtuoso wrote shortly after moving to New York City from North Carolina. That move happened just months before the pandemic.

“This conceptual album explores what it means to ‘uproot & replant’ into a more expansive yet more challenging environment,” the album notes explain.

The Fourchestra is actually a trio featuring Scales with drummer Maison Guidry and bassist E’Lon JD. For this go around, they enlisted an amazing list of guests, including Weedie Braimah, Marcus Machado, Itai Kriss, and more. (Double bassist Matt Aronoff appears on “Mimza.”)

Given the nature of the band’s orchestration, JD is given plenty of space to stretch out and fill in the harmony. He does so with beautiful runs, chordal comping, and a groove that just won’t quit. Check out the opening track, “Same Seeds,” which features spoken word by Adam L. As Himself.

Re-Potted is available now digitally via Bandcamp, iTunes, and Amazon MP3.

Re-Potted Track List:

  1. Same Seeds (ft. Adam L. As Himself)
  2. Obispo
  3. Stencil
  4. Box in the Sky
  5. Trickle ‘Round
  6. This is the Way Out!
  7. Ocean Church
  8. Mizma
  9. The World Runs on Harnessed Chaos
  10. Gravitropism (ft. Adam L. As Himself)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts